Springsteen – Born in the USA

Before a single word is uttered, ‘Born in the U.S.A.’ explodes out of the gate and from the title track to the album cover it secured ‘The Boss’ Bruce Springsteen into a national treasure.

While Springsteen loves his country, the rocker was not against writing about his issues and troubles within America too. Famously, ‘Born in the U.S.A.’ is not the ode to patriotism and nationalistic singalong so many attributed it to. In fact, it was a reflection of the troubles of war and the difficulties veterans faced when they came home to America after fighting for it.

In short, ‘Born in the U.S.A.’ is an honest look at the state of America in 1984 through the eyes, ears, and words of Bruce Springsteen as he tries to capture American life – the good and the bad.

Join Robin LaRose on Saturday, June 4 @ 6 p.m. as he takes you back to 1984 and the blockbuster album from Bruce Springsteen, it’s ‘Born in the USA’ only on Q107 – Calgary’s Classic Rock!

Born in the USA Track List

Side one

  1. “Born in the U.S.A.”                        4:38
  2. “Cover Me”                                       3:29
  3. “Darlington County”                       4:48
  4. “Working on the Highway”           3:13
  5. “Downbound Train”                        3:35
  6. “I’m on Fire”                                     2:40

Side two

  1. “No Surrender”                                 4:01
  2. “Bobby Jean”                                     3:48
  3. “I’m Goin’ Down”                             3:30
  4. “Glory Days”                                       4:15
  5. “Dancing in the Dark”                     4:04
  6. “My Hometown”                              4:34