Alberta Election: Calgary-East results

View Link »

Global News projects that Peter Singh will take the riding of Calgary-East for the United Conservative Party (UCP).

Below is a full list of the candidates in the riding of Calgary-East, which covers the eastern edge of the city.

Quick take

The race in Calgary-East should be interesting as the current MLA was removed from the NDP caucus and had been sitting as independent.


United Conservative Party: Peter Singh

NDP: Cesar Cala

Alberta Party: Gar Gar

Liberal Party: Michelle Robinson

Green Party: William Carnegie

Communist Party: Jonathan Trautman


Robyn Luff was elected to the riding as a member of the NDP in 2015.

In November 2018, she was removed from the NDP caucus after she claimed there was a “toxic culture” in the party’s caucus. She has sat as an independent MLA since then.

Moe Amery’s 22-year run as a PC MLA came to an end in 2015.

This riding was part of the 2015 orange crush, which saw the Alberta NDP stomp out a 44-year Progressive Conservative dynasty in the province.

© 2019 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

You May Also Like

Top Stories